My first blog post – med school so far

Welcome everyone!

Exams are over and it’s time to start my blog

IMG_4060A few weeks ago I sat the biggest (and scariest) set of medical school exams yet, and I promised myself that if I passed them I would finally start this blog about medical school. On Tuesday 14th March the good news arrived that I have passed the exams, so it’s now time to get this blog off the ground.

I had been toying up the idea of stating this blog for a while now, but never quite found the time to do so with exams looming in the background.
Why start a blog? I’m sure many people have different reasons for doing so, but for me it’s the desire to share my passion for medicine and everything relating to it with you all. My close friends will tell you that I talk about medicine A LOT. This is true. I don’t do it to be boring, but because I find it all so fascinating and interesting! And what I found over the years is that there are so many other people our there who are also incredibly interested by medicine, either because they are sharing the journey through medical school, or because they wish to do so in the future.
So here we are, I hope this blog will be a conversation between you and me about this fascinating topic!

Med school summary – the story so far

As of this week, I am officially in my final year of medical school (exciting yet scary stuff!), and I will graduate in June 2018. But let’s go back to the beginning..

I started medical school iIMG_3163n September 2012; during my first three years I discovered my passion for research and academic medicine. After my 3rd year I took a year out to complete a research degree (an intercalated BSc); I thoroughly enjoyed this year, met amazing people and had lots of awesome experiences. I will talk about my iBSc more in detail in another post. In the summer 2016 I graduated from my BSc, and went back to medical school to complete the last two years. I am now only one year off finishing!

Medical school is a great experience, but it is challenging and there are times when you question why you started on this journey. I won’t pretend that being a medical student is easy, but it can definitely be very enjoyable and there are many fantastic opportunities!

Over the past 5 years I’ve learnt a great deal about studying, managing my time, juggling various commitment and dealing with stressful situations. Hopefully I’ll be able to share some of the things I’ve learnt with you.

The next posts will cover various topics including:
– how to use your time productively
– study tips
– exam techniques
– how to de-stress
– best study materials
– career choice
– how to get involved in research
– organise electives
and many more!

But most importantly, please let me know if there are any topics you’d like me to talk about!!!

 

2 thoughts on “My first blog post – med school so far

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

